Book Club

 

LIKE TO READ & DISCUSS BOOKS?

Then you need to join our book club that meets on the 2nd Tuesday of every other month at the home of Bob Franklin and Lenna Webb, 17201 Hidden Glen Drive, Dallas 75248.  We all bring a bottle of wine or an appetizer or dessert to share during our discussions which are lead by Nancy Brumley.  If you would like to be added to the group roster to receive reminders and information on our book selections, sign up below or call Nancy at (972) 644-3058

Our selection for the May 8th meeting is:

Before We Were Yours, by Lisa Wingate

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”
Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge–until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents–but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals–in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country–Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

Advance praise for Before We Were Yours

“Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation’s history and weaves a tale of enduring power.That Georgia Tann and her Memphis Tennessee Children’s Home Society could actually exist, unraveling the lives of countless children, stealing their pas tsand changing their futures, will give you chills. But the real feat of this stirring novel is how deeply Wingate plunges us into the heart and mind of twelve-year-old river-gypsy, Rill Foss. Rill’ sutterly singular voice will stay with you long after the last page is turned,as will Wingate’s courage to follow her anywhere… Vivid and affecting.”
Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun