Book Club

 

LIKE TO READ & DISCUSS BOOKS?

Then you need to join our book club that meets on the 2nd Tuesday of every other month at the home of Bob Franklin and Lenna Webb, 17201 Hidden Glen Drive, Dallas 75248.  We all bring a bottle of wine or an appetizer or dessert to share during our discussions which are lead by Nancy Brumley.  If you would like to be added to the group roster to receive reminders and information on our book selections, sign up below or call Nancy at (972) 644-3058

Our selection for the March 13th meeting is:

Beneath a Scarlet Sky: A Novel

by Mark Sullivan

Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music, food, and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.

In an attempt to protect him, Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier—a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commanders.

Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.

Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.